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(a)  The information required for each applicant requesting reinstatement of licensure after a license has been 

suspended due to non-renewal shall consist of: 

(1) completed reinstatement application form. The form shall include the following information: 

(A) applicant's legal name; 

(B) mailing address and telephone number; 

(C) business name, mailing address and telephone number; 

(D) Social Security number; 

(E) e-mail address; 

(F) date and place of birth; 

(G) licensure or applicant for licensure by another psychology board; 

(H) if taken, the score on the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology; 

(I) whether applicant has previously applied for a license to practice psychology in North 

Carolina; 

(J) whether the applicant was denied a professional license or permit, privilege of taking an 

examination, had a professional license or permit disciplined by any licensing authority 

in North Carolina or elsewhere, or charges are pending against a professional license or 

permit held by the applicant; 

(K) whether the applicant has withdrawn an application for licensure or an application to take 

a professional licensing examination in North Carolina or elsewhere; 

(L) whether the applicant has ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo 

contendere to any felony or misdemeanor other than a minor traffic violation; 

(M) other fields of work for which the applicant is licensed or certified; or has applied for 

licensure or certification; 

(N) whether the applicant holds a diploma from the American Board of Professional 

Psychology; 

(O) whether doctoral program was APA accredited at the time of graduation; 

(P) names of graduate programs attended and dates degrees awarded; 

(Q) names and mailing addresses of three professional references, other than supervisors; 

(R) all work experience including, any graduate internship, practicum, or other supervised 

training experience that serves as the basis for current application for licensure; 

(S) reason for reapplying for licensure in North Carolina; 

(T) any disability that may require some special accommodation, as set forth in the ADA in 

taking licensing examinations; 

(U) if applying for Health Services Provider Certification; and 

(V) certify that the applicant has read and understands the public notice statement on 

employee misclassification maintained on the Board's website and whether the applicant 

has been investigated for employee misclassification within the past 12 months. 

(2) documentation of having completed a minimum of 24 continuing education hours as specified in 

Rule .2104 of this Section during the two years preceding the date of application for reinstatement 

of licensure; 

(3) completed supervision report form, if applicable; and 

(4) payment of the renewal and reinstatement fees. 

The information listed in this Paragraph shall be filed in the Board office within 30 days after a license has been 

suspended due to non-renewal. 

(b)  The information required for each applicant requesting reinstatement of licensure after a license has been 

suspended for more than 30 days due to non-renewal or after a license has been voluntarily relinquished with the 

Board's , consent, pursuant to G.S. 90-270.148(h), shall consist of: 

(1) typed or legibly printed, signed or digitally signed application form and supervision contract form; 

(2) signed consent form, completed Fingerprint Record Card, and other such form(s) or information as 

required by the North Carolina Department of Justice to perform a criminal history record check; 

(3) payment of fee required by the North Carolina Department of Justice to perform a criminal history 

record check; 

(4) documentation of having completed a minimum of 24 continuing education hours as specified in 

Rule .2104 of this Section during the two years preceding the date of application for reinstatement 

of licensure; 



(5) completed supervisory forms from present and past supervisors, if applicable, as set forth in G.S. 

90-270.148(h); 

(6) three completed reference forms from professionals who are familiar with the applicant's current 

work, one of which shall be from a doctoral level psychologist, as set forth in Rule .1701(a)(8) of 

this Chapter; 

(7) written verification and report on the status of any occupational licensure, including dates of 

licensure and any disciplinary action which is pending or has been taken, sent directly to the Board 

from any other regulatory agency in North Carolina and any other jurisdiction in which the 

applicant has applied for a license, is currently licensed, or previously was licensed, if applicable; 

(8) official graduate college transcripts sent directly to the Board by the training institution(s); and 

(9) payment of the renewal and reinstatement fees within 30 days after receiving notification from the 

Board that reinstatement of licensure has been approved. 

(c)  An application shall contain all required materials as set forth in Paragraphs (a) and (b) of this Rule to be 

complete. An incomplete application shall be active for three months from the date of application. At the end of such 

time, if still incomplete, the application shall be void, and the applicant shall be deemed to have discontinued the 

application process. If the individual chooses to pursue licensure at a later date, the individual shall reapply. 

(d)  To be considered to have made application for reinstatement of licensure pursuant to Paragraph (b) of this Rule 

the information specified in Subparagraphs (b)(1) through (b)(4) of this Rule shall be filed in the Board office within 

30 days of offering to practice or undertaking the practice of psychology in North Carolina. 

(e)  The Board shall require applicants for reinstatement to take the state examination. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-270.143; 90-270.147(a)(2); 90-270.148.(f),(h); 90-270.155(a); 

Eff. August 1, 1984; 

Amended Eff. March 1, 2008; May 1, 1996; November 1, 1991; March 1, 1989; 

Readopted Eff. April 1, 2020; 

Amended Eff. August 1, 2021. 

 


